Content additions and changes save automatically as content authors work in the system. These changes must be submitted for approval; once approved the changes will forward to the publishing queue, before they will appear on the website.
With workflows enabled, content is not manually published. When content is approved through workflow it is automatically added to the publishing queue.
While the steps differ slightly depending on where a user is working, the outcome is the same: approved content is queued for publishing and published during the next scheduled publish cycle. This publishing behavior applies to content edited in both Page Builder and Content Editor.
When the publishing queue runs its regularly scheduled publish cycle, content is saved in the Sitecore Master database. Published items are copied from the Master database (where content is maintained and stored) to the publishing target (i.e., the website hosting server). These changes then populate to caching servers around the globe. This process can take several minutes once the publishing cycle starts (generally up to five minutes for standard pages and up to twenty minutes for changes to appear on a listing page). The publishing cycle runs approximately every 10 minutes.
When a user creates or updates a page using Page builder, Sitecore automatically manages the workflow state.
The current workflow state is always visible in the upper right corner of the Page builder interface.

In Page Builder:
Enter a comment describing the update. Comments assist reviewers in understanding what changes were made to the page.

After submitting the page:
No additional publishing action is required.

Note: Hovering over the Publish button will show a message that publishing permissions are not available for non-admin users. This does not mean the changes made won't publish. Anything that has been submitted and is approved progresses to the publishing queue and will publish during the next publish cycle run.

Users can also approve changes at the component level. This is especially useful when troubleshooting. If a component does not appear after the page publish process has completed, confirm the component does not need approval.
All items should show a status of "No workflow" or "Approved" to be eligible to be included in the publish cycle.



When working in Content Editor, items must be locked before they can be edited.
To open Content Editor:
From the Sitecore launch pad, click to select the appropriate environment. (See Fig. 7)

Click Content editor on the flyout menu. (See Fig. 8) Continue to step 3, below.

Alternative method to open Content Editor, from Page builder:
Click the dropdown arrow to the right of the Sitecore launchpad icon in the top left corner of the screen. (See Fig. 9)

Click Content editor in the dropdown menu. Content editor opens in a new browser tab. (See Fig. 10)

Important: Any changes made to a site in Content Editor that are not part of a workflow process will automatically be added to the publishing queue when the change is saved.
These non-workflow changes include setting the site default featured story and featured events.


After submitting the item edits:
Both interfaces use the same workflow and publishing process.
Documentation updated: Sept. 21, 2026
Related Resources